Organized Sports NFL Picks – Joy Divisional Round

Ian Curtis Martin

Ian Curtis Martin

Organized Sports is a recurring sports column named for a seminal DC avant-hardcore song by the equally stupid and brilliant (to me, “equally stupid and brilliant” pretty much just means “brilliant”) band Void. Take from that what you will.

Last weekend didn’t offer many Unknown Pleasures, as three of the four games were ugly to watch, with only the final contest, the Redskins-Seahawks Sunday late game matchup, worth watching into the fourth quarter. I thought many of the games would be Closer, but they were not, and I only got a quarter of my picks correct.

As the New Dawn Fades on Saturday, hopefully I’ll throw off my incorrect gambling Disorder and the teams I choose will get into the Interzone more often. Or, rather, the end zone, I suppose.

This gimmick’s getting old, and it will get older after the jump.

Last Week: 1-3

Playoffs So Far: 1-3

Saturday Afternoon Game (1/12 4:30PM)

Baltimore Ravens at Denver Broncos (-8.5)
I once knew this guy who had it bad for a girl named Tara, and she did not return the feelings. I once asked him if his favorite Joy Division song was “Love Will Tara Sapart.”
My Pick: Broncos (-8.5)

Saturday Night Game (1/12 8PM)

Green Bay Packers at San Francisco 49ers (-3)
When trying to find some Insight into who might win this game, I thought about the guy who had an MVP year but will not even be an MVP Candidate, and that is Aaron Rodgers, who makes quarterbacking look too easy. The 49ers D has been tough all year, but look for the Pack to take this one in the Atmosphere of Candlestick.
My Pick: Packers (+3)

Sunday Early Game (1/13 1PM)

Seattle Seahawks at Atlanta Falcons (-2.5)
It’s basically become a tradition, a Ceremony if you will, for the Falcons to lose their first game of the playoffs under Matt Ryan and Mike Smith. If that happens again this year, the complaints from Falcons fans will go on much longer than Twenty Four Hours and come close to The Eternal.

My Pick: Seahawks (+2.5)

Sunday Early Game (1/13 4:30PM)

Houston Texans at New England Patriots (-9)
Many Boston pundits think that this one will be a regular Atrocity Exhibition—far be it from me to disagree with the thoroughly unbiased Boston media. It’s been Decades since they’ve made a mistake.
My Pick: Texans (+9)

Check back next week, when we find out the New Order of the championship games.

Leave a Reply

