Five For FRiday: Cereal Killin’ It

The best part of wakin’ up.  Or of any part of any day.

Nathan: Life

Naming a cereal “life” is probably the most overreaching brand naming I’ve ever seen. And yet the taste and texture of Life is so subtle and pleasing that I’m tempted to believe this cereal deserves its lofty title.

Tyler: Crispix

I suppose Crispix are theoretically healthy, but I do not care.  The blend of wheat and corn, the satisfying crunch, the occasional whimsy of a one-sided diamond?  Hell, I loved this stuff when I was a kid.

Travis: Lucky Charms

I may be the only person on earth who prefers whatever the hell the non-marshmallow thingies are in the Lucky Charms, but it’s true nonetheless.

Nathan: Apple Jacks 

For a cereal to be truly great, it must rate highly in textural balance after a few minutes doused in milk. Some cereals are effectively spoiled if you get a phone call right after pouring your bowl. Not so with Apple Jacks. The flavor is nice no matter how long it’s been swimming in your bowl. Bonus: Apple Jacks will give you the best milk when the cereal is gone.

Tyler: Alpha Bits

Do these even exist anymore?  No different from any number of sweetened grain-based sugared-up non-Cheerios, Alpha Bits remain my gold standard.  For that category I just came up with there.

Travis: Kix

Kid-tested, Travis-approved.

Nathan: Reese’s Puffs 

Whenever I eat these, I imagine that I’m in Calvin & Hobbes, munching down on a bowl of Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bombs. Why? Because the thrill of eating a bowl or two of Reese’s Puffs has to match the excitement I see in Calvin every time he takes on a bowl of Sugar Bombs. I feel like a child.

Tyler: Shredded Wheat

Yes.  I like Shredded Wheat.  I like the novelty of dropping an enormous brick of compacted fibers into my bowl of milk and tearing it apart with aplomb, strings and chunks floating apart like a fragmenting iceberg of healthy (?) textured deliciousness.  I like Shredded Wheat.  I am 78 years old.

Travis: Peanut Butter Crunch

I would probably eat a tire if it was covered in peanut butter, so basically doing the same with Cap’n Crunch is like manna from heaven.

Nathan: Lucky Charms

Yes, they are magically delicious.

Tyler: Rice Krispies

So simple, yet I can eat three bowls in succession, and I am not a binge-eater.  Added bonus: said simplicity means that almost all off-brand/store-brand “Crispy Rice” knockoffs are just as good as the original.

Travis: Honey Nut Cheerios  

If a cereal is the favorite of Omar Little, then who am I to argue?

Nathan: Raisin Nut Bran

As evidenced above, I am a fan of cereals designed to destroy the body. It should surprise you as much as it does me to know that Raisin Nut Bran, a cereal exploding with healthiness, is at the top of my list. The reason: nut covered raisins. Honestly, General Mills could make a cereal consisting of nothing but nut covered raisins, and I would consider making it the exclusive food in my daily diet.

As it is, Raisin Nut Bran is on the expensive side and has no knock-off brand to speak of. Therefore, I only eat Raisin Nut Bran on rare occasions. This act of moderation makes each bowl all the sweeter.

Tyler: Golden Grahams

Almost as delicious as the delightful crispy honey-sweet wafers that make up this cereal?  The delightful slurpable honey-sweet flavor they leave blended with your choice of milk (2% over here).

Travis: Raisin Bran

It’s probably a boring choice to top my list, but it’s healthy-ish, it tastes good, and a bowl of Raisin Bran a day keeps the (gastrointestinal tract) doctor away.

One thought on “Five For FRiday: Cereal Killin’ It

  1. I am obsessed with Reese’s Puffs. I delude myself into thinking that because it’s cereal, it can’t be “that bad” for me (this is based on the incredibly skewed list of items that generally make up my diet). Also, does anyone else hoard cereal? For some reason I’ll buy three huge boxes of cereal despite the fact that I live alone and I *know* that Golden Grahams goes stale after about five minutes.

Leave a Reply

