Prose Remix: Ryan Adams, Dear Chicago

Dear Chicago,

You’ll never guess.  Y’know the girl you said I’d meet someday?  Well, I got something to confess.  She picked me up on Friday, asked me if she reminded me of you.  I just laughed and lit a cigarette, said “That’s impossible to do.”

My life’s gotten simple since, but it fluctuates so much.  Happy and sad and back again (I’m not cryin’, now, too much).  I think about you all the time.  It’s strange, and hard to deal.  I think about you lyin’ there, where those blankets lie so still.  Nothin’ breathes here in the cold; nothin’ moves or even smiles.  I’ve been thinkin’ some of suicide, but there’s bars out here for miles.  I’m sorry ’bout the every kiss…every kiss you wasted, bad, y’know, I think the thing you said was true.  I’m gonna die alone and sad.

Without you.

Without you.

Without you.

Without you.

Without you.

The wind’s feelin’ real these days.  Yeah, and, baby, it hurts me some.  Never thought I’d feel so blue–New York City, you’re almost gone.

I think that I’ve fallen out of love–

I think, I’ve fallen out of love–

I think, I’ve fallen out of love…

With you.

Leave a Reply

