Prose Remix. The National, “Apartment Story.”

“Apartment Story.”

Be still for a second, while I try and try to pin your flowers on.

La la la-la la.

Can you carry my drink?  I have everything else.  I can tie my tie all by myself.  I’m gettin’ tied.  I’m forgettin’ why.  Oh, we’re so disarming, darling, everything we did believe is diving, diving, diving, diving off the balcony.

Tired and wired, we ruin too easy.  Sleep in our clothes and wait for winter to leave.

Hold ourselves together, with our arms around the stereo for hours.

La la la-la la la, la.

While it sings to itself (or whatever it does), when it sings to itself of its long lost loves, I’m gettin’ tied.  I’m forgettin’ why.

Tired and wired, we ruin too easy.  Sleep in our clothes and wait for winter to leave.  And I’ll be with you behind the couch when they come, on a different day, just like this one.

We’ll stay inside ’til somebody finds us.  Do whatever the TV tells us.  Stay inside our rosy-minded fuzz, for days.  We’ll stay inside ’til somebody finds us.  Do whatever the TV tells us.  Stay inside our rosy-minded fuzz.  So, worry not.  All things are well.  We’ll be alright.  We have our looks, and perfume.

Stay inside ’til somebody finds us.  Do whatever the TV tells us.  Stay inside our rosy-minded fuzz.  So, worry not.  All things are well.  We’ll be alright.  We have our looks.  And perfume on.

Leave a Reply

